Amy's Landscape

Views from the Florida Landscape

You Turn

What foolishness!  With too much on my mind and without giving attention to what, in reality, I was doing, I turned left, thinking I needed to hit the bank before 4:00 p.m.  But in heading left, I bypassed the post office and another quick stop I could have knocked out had I gone right and then to the bank.  I wasn’t really in the car at all but off someplace in my head, disconnected from what I was supposed to be focused on.  Now I’d have to waste more time I was already pressed for.  In my head I heard, “You can turn around any time.”

What is repentance, but to turn around, do a you-turn?  Many times the thought begins to creep over us that we’re heading in a direction that’s not in our best interest, or we get caught in the fallout of a poor decision or choice, yet we refuse to get it; too prideful to make the you-turn it takes to get back on the right road.

Did you take a left today when you meant to take a right?  Did you head in a direction you were too proud to admit you shouldn’t go?  That’s just the stuff the Christ came to move us through, to help us get off the pride train and make the U-turn we need to go in a direction God has laid out for our benefit.  To continue on is folly but we often do, too arrogant to say we’re wrong and humble ourselves to make the you-turn to real freedom and peace.

January 27, 2012 - Posted by | Florida Outdoors, God in the everyday, On The Road, Parenting, Relationships | , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

